Header Ads

Buhari swears in Arase as PSC Chairman, 5 Board members of CCB


President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday swore in former Inspector-General of Police Solomon Arase as the new chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC).

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Arase’s swearing-in preceded the meeting of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) and came two months after the Senate confirmed him as chairperson of the PSC.

Buhari had forwarded Arase’s name to the Senate for confirmation in line with sections 153 (1) and 154 (1) of the constitution as amended.

Arase, 65, who retired in 2016, was the 18th indigenous Inspector-General of Police (from April 2015 to June 2016).

He served in various capacities, including head of the Criminal Intelligence and Investigation Bureau, the foremost intelligence-gathering unit of the Nigerian police.

The president also swore in five board members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB), namely; Murtala Kankia from Katsina State (North-West), Zephaniah Bulus from Nasarawa State (North Central) and Farouk Umar from Yobe (North East).

Others are Taofik Abdulsalam from Ondo (South West) and Prof. Juwaria Badamasi from Kogi State (North Central).

The Council members observed a moment of silence in honour of retired Lt.-Gen. Oladipo Diya, who died on Sunday.

Diya served as Chief of General Staff and Vice Chairman of the Provisional Ruling Council under the Abacha regime.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.