Header Ads

APC Lawmaker, Six others Defect To PDP


The lawmaker representing Makurdi North State Constituency in the Benue State House of Assembly, Mr. Thomas Kwagh-Kudi, and six other All Progressives Congress, APC, stalwarts have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

A wave of defection has hit the Kebbi State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the party has lost five members of the National Assembly and three members of the state assembly to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The mass defection to the PDP began after the primary election of APC as most of the decampees were disenchanted with how the party conducted its primary elections. 

Senator Adamu Aliero of Kebbi Central Senatorial District, Senate leader, Dr. Yahaya Abdullahi of Kebbi North Senatorial District as well as members of the House of Representatives, representing Kalgo/Bunza Federal Constituency, were the first set to announce their defection from APC to PDP.

Mohammed Umar Jega and Abdullahi Zumbo, members representing Aliero/Jega/Gwandu and Dandi/Arewa federal Constituencies followed suit by dumping the party for PDP.

In a related development, members of the state assembly, Habibu Labbo, Ismaila Bui, and Mohammed Buhari Aliero, representing Gwandu, Arewa, and Aliero constituencies, also abandoned APC for PDP.

The Organizing Secretary of PDP in the state, Usaini Raha, confirmed the defection of the lawmakers to PDP.

On the rumored defection of a former governor of the state, Sa’idu Usman Dakingari, to PDP, Raha said a letter to that effect was yet to reach his party’s secretariat.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.